Book-to-Movie Friday: The Hunger Games

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

The Hunger Games

 

When I read The Hunger Games, I loved it, and I was really excited to find out that it was being made into a movie. I read The Hunger Games in September of 2010, and the movie didn’t come out until March 2012, so there was a sufficient gap for me to not vividly remember everything.

When I saw the movie, I was completely enthralled. I loved almost everything about it. Sure, there were little things that were changed that I noticed right away, such as where Katniss got the Mockingjay pin, why Prim’s name was only in there once, and I felt that the romance between Katniss and Gale was played up a bit too much in the movie, but overall, I felt like they stayed fairly true to the book.

My biggest complaint at the time, as with just about any movie, is that I felt like they gave too much away. I liked the excitement of only being in Katniss’s head while she was in the Games, whereas in the movie, we had to see scenes with the Gamemakers, President Snow, and Gale watching the Games. I just felt like they took away from Katniss’s story, but I’m sure there was a reason they were there.

I was very, very happy with the way The Hunger Games was adapted from page to screen, and it made me very anxious to reread the series. After a reread, I was able to notice other things that had been changed for the movie, but most of them didn’t bother me. There is a scene on the train at the end of the book that I wish had been in the movie, but overall, I thought they did a great job adapting this book, and I would definitely recommend it to fans of the book!

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Book-to-Movie Friday: The Hunger Games

  1. […] The Hunger Games […]

Leave a Reply

