Book-to-Movie Friday #2: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

 

I was so mad when I found out that there would be a 20 month wait between the first and second Hunger Games movies. However, time flies, so Catching Fire is out, and my sister and I went to see it on opening night!

I thought that, for the most part, Catching Fire was excellent. I feel like a lot of the visual stuff and even the casting was done a lot better in this movie than the first one. However, unlike the first movie, there were some things that were missing and added that bothered me.

Firstly, the really played up the romance between Katniss and Gale again. It was much more subtle in the book, which I preferred. Also, because it was visual, and we weren’t actually inside Katniss’s head, I really missed her full reaction to President Snow.

The thing that bothered me the most was that there is a small scene between Katniss and the new Head Gamemaker, Plutarch Heavensbee, at the party in the Capitol that was cut out of the movie. This really bothered me. It doesn’t seem like much when you’re first reading the book, but it ends up being kind of a big deal. Honestly, I felt like they really changed Heavensbee’s character a lot in the movie, and I wasn’t impressed.

I thought that the Games were handled really well, and I loved seeing the way they handled all the different obstacles. I definitely felt like this was done better than in the first movie. I felt like the Games were much more sinister in the first book than the movie portrayed, but I thought they did a great job this time around.

Overall, while there were a few things that I would absolutely change about the movie if I could, it was still one of the better book-to-movie adaptations I’ve seen. I will definitely be buying this one, and I’m still hoping to get a chance to take my husband to see it while it’s still in the theater. I would definitely recommend it!

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Book-to-Movie Friday #2: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

  1. […] The Hunger Games: Catching Fire […]

Leave a Reply

