2013 End of Year Book Survey

I only bought one book this week, so rather than doing Stacking the Shelves today, I’m doing Jamie’s End of Year Book Survey! You can check out my 2012 answers here.

Hosted by The Perpetual Page Turner

Best in Books 2013

1. Best Book You Read In 2013?

(If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist) – I made sure to only count new books, otherwise it would be all Harry Potter! lol

Contemporary YA: Traditionally published: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry, Self-published: Shark Out of Water by Jenn Cooksey
Dystopian YA:  Shatter Me and Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
Paranormal YA: Boundless by Cynthia Hand
Fantasy YA: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

This one is ridiculously easy. Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I didn’t think the description sounded appealing at all, and I ended up really liking it!

 4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

I don’t actually do a lot of recommending, but I guess since I had both Jac and my mom read it: the Ten Tiny Breaths series by K.A. Tucker.

 5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

I started a lot of series this year. My favorite completed series that I started this year was Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. As for incomplete series, and I mean actual series, not companion novels, would probably be a toss-up between Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor or Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

This is so hard! I’m going to go with Tahereh Mafi. Not only am I loving her writing, but I just love her personality!

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I pretty much stuck to YA this year, and the few adult books I read were things I’d typically read anyway, so I’m going to have to go with Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker. It was my first foray into the New Adult genre, and it was definitely a great start!

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker, Boundless by Cynthia Hand, Parallel by Lauren Miller, and The Other Fish in the Sea by Jenn Cooksey.

 9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi before the final book comes out. The Grab Your Pole series by Jenn Cooksey. Harry Potter since I read it about once a year.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

 

I have two. One with people on the cover, and one without. Crash Into You by Katie McGarry and Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi.

11. Most memorable character in 2013? 

Tucker from the Unearthly series, I think. Maybe Ira from With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

This is a hard one for me. I think I’m going to go with Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. I loved the imagery, and listening to the audio, I was always really enthralled.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

Gone by Michael Grant and not in a good way. I don’t think I have ever been so disgusted with a book. Everything about it just made my skin crawl.

In a good way? Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker. There’s just so much that makes me stop an think.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. It wasn’t my favorite book, but I liked the sequels a lot! As a Harry Potter fan-fic spin-off, I’m surprised it flew under my radar for so long!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013? 

He plunged in, kissing me again as if he needed oxygen and only my lungs could provide it.

-Young Annabelle by Sarah Tork

“You know,” he said, “under normal circumstances, you inviting me to the bedroom would be the highlight of my day.”

The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body.

I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.”

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012? 

Shortest — I read several short stories and novellas, so

All booksOrigins: The Fire by Debra Driza at 15 pages

Over 100 pagesDestroy Me by Tahereh Mafi at 103 pages

Over 200 pagesThe Starlight Chronicles: Slumbering by C.S. Johnson at 206 pages

 

Longest —

All books – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling at 734 pages

Only new books (not rereads) – Gone by Michael Grant at 583 pages

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Allegiant by Veronica Roth. If you’ve read it, you know why. Boundless by Cynthia Hand, The Other Fish in the Sea by Jenn Cooksey

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Romantic – Tucker & Clara in the Unearthly series by Cynthia Hand

Friendship – Juliette & Kenji in Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi, Tristan & Brandon in Shark Out of Water by Jenn Cooksey

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You Read Previously

This is SO hard! I loved With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent and The Other Fish in the Sea and Shark Out of Water by Jenn Cooksey!

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker. I don’t think I even knew what it was about when I requested it from Netgalley!

21. Genre You Read the Most From in 2013

No real surprise: YA Paranormal

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013

Tucker from Unearthly, Noah from Pushing the Limits, Garrick from Losing It

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

Parallel by Lauren Miller

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

Hmmm, I’d have to say Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013

Most fun? This one’s hard! I guess either The Other Fish in the Sea by Jenn Cooksey because it was -hilarious or Losing It by Cora Carmack. That one was really amusing.

26. Book That Made You Cry or Nearly Cry in 2013?

Well, I cry very easily, both at happy endings and sad ones. But the ones that made me really sobbing were: Sever by Lauren DeStefano, Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker, and Allegiant by Veronica Roth. I didn’t cry quite as hard at Crash Into You by Katie McGarry and Boundless by Cynthia Hand.

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

I’m not sure. Maybe Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver? I don’t really know how much attention it got when it came out, but I feel like it get’s a bad rap for being repetitive, while I loved it and couldn’t put it down!

Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2013(optional)

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013? 

Hmm, probably Book Loving Mom. I met Amy at the Dark Days stop in Boston, and she’s really cool!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2013? 

I don’t know that I have a favorite review that I wrote. I honestly can’t think of one off the top of my head!

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

My discussion on Feeling Overwhelmed got the most comments, but my personal favorite is Are Happy Endings Unrealistic?

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

I’m not really sure. I know I was inspired by Jamie‘s post on series, So Many Loose Ends

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I got to go to both the Dark Days tour in February and the Fierce Reads tour in June. Those were really cool! Also, I went to a book blogger meetup with Amy and Giselle.

6. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

Getting approved for my first titles on Netgalley and Edelweiss.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I’m actually really surprised by this, but it looks like, by views, it was my DNF ARC Review – The 7-Minute Marriage Solution by Stephen Arterburn. I had no idea!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Honestly, I wish that my discussion posts had, you know, sparked a bit more discussion. Also, I expected more activity for my one-year blogoversary giveaway.

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I can’t think of any. There’s Booklikes, but I still use Goodreads more, so…

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Yes! I more than completed my Goodreads goal, my Outdo Yourself Challenge, and an A-Z Title Challenge I did within a Goodreads group. I made a couple personal challenges, too, but I didn’t complete those.

Looking Ahead…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, Everneath by Brodi Ashton

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi!

3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings. I’ve been following Lindsay on Twitter for a while now, and I’ve been waiting for this book almost as long!

4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

Since I already said Ignite Me for #2, I’m going to go with Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor, though technically, it would still be Ignite Me!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

Well, I’d still really like to grow my blog, get more followers and more interactions, but I’d also like to go back to reading more for me. ARCs are great when they’re books I’m already excited for, but I went a little too crazy requesting and started to feel stressed and overwehelmed

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “2013 End of Year Book Survey

  1. […] End of Year Book Survey […]

  2. Reviews From A Bookworm January 5, 2014 at 6:12 pm Reply

    I also picked Allegiant as the book that was excited for, but ended up not liking. Sooo disappointing. I just got Shatter Me, Unravel Me and Shadow & Bone for Christmas. I am so excited to read all of them, glad to hear you loved them all!

    Great answers 🙂 My End of Year Survey.

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 9, 2014 at 10:41 am Reply

      I didn’t think Allegiant was bad, but it didn’t live up to the rest of the series for me. Ooh, you got some great books! Shadow & Bone surprised me. I thought the description didn’t sound very good, but I ended up liking it a lot!

Leave a Reply

