Review – Losing It by Cora Carmack

Title: Losing It
Author: Cora Carmack
Series: Losing It #1

Next Book: Keeping Her (#1.5), Faking It
Source: Personal Purchase

 Description from Goodreads:

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

Review

I picked up Losing It because I was looking for a K for my A to Z Title Challenge, and Keeping Her, the sequel novella, seemed like a good choice, but I obviously couldn’t read #1.5 without reading the first book, so I got Losing It as well. I really procrastinated on reading it because I really hate the cover. Honestly, this is one of those books that I’m glad I bought on my kindle because I would be embarrassed to be seen reading this cover! But I am so glad that I finally picked it up!

Losing It follows Bliss Edwards. She’s 22 and about to start her final semester of college when she admits to her best friend that she’s a virgin. She’s not holding onto her virginity for any particular reason, other than she just hasn’t found anyone worth giving it up to. The leads her friend to decide that she is taking Bliss out to a bar, where she will find a guy to lose it to.

I thought the premise of this book was kind of funny, but it turned into so much more than I expected while reading it. After freaking out during her almost-one-night-stand, Bliss walks in to class to find that same guy is now her teacher. Unfortunately, they seem to have developed feelings for each other, so they find it hard to stay away from each other, even though it could cost Garrick his job. I actually kind of enjoyed the back and forth. Garrick is just a hot character, especially with his British accent!

I loved Garrick, though I had a hard time reading him for a while. I couldn’t tell if he was really interested in Bliss or if he was just really attracted to her, but there was always something about him that appealed to me anyway. Bliss, on the other hand, annoyed me sometimes. She kept coming up with lame excuses rather than just admitting her virgin status to Garrick. Throw in some emotional tension from an admiring friend, and you pretty much have your classic romantic comedy.

Though Losing It was pretty much exactly what I expected it to be, I really enjoyed it. The conflict didn’t make me want to throw the book across my room, and the resolution was just great. It was a quick, fun read that I really enjoyed and would definitely recommend!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – Losing It by Cora Carmack

  1. Jacque December 16, 2013 at 10:48 am Reply

    I have to admit that I did not pick this one up, specifically because of the cover! (Seriously… that’s pathetic, huh?) But now? I think I may have to rethink that choice! I’m glad that you loved it!

    (Replying under my other blog since WordPress.com isn’t signing me in for some reason!)

    • Mommy's Reading Break December 16, 2013 at 10:52 am Reply

      Yeah, the cover is really, really bad. If it weren’t for needing Keeping Her for my A-Z Challenge, I probably would have passed on it, too.

  2. […] Losing It by Cora Carmack (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

