ARC Review – Roomies by Tara Altebrando & Sara Zarr

Title: Roomies
Author: Tara Altebrando & Sara Zarr
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Netgalley
Release Date: 12/24/2013

 Description from Goodreads:

It’s time to meet your new roomie.

When East Coast native Elizabeth receives her freshman-year roommate assignment, she shoots off an e-mail to coordinate the basics: television, microwave, mini-fridge. That first note to San Franciscan Lauren sparks a series of e-mails that alters the landscape of each girl’s summer — and raises questions about how two girls who are so different will ever share a dorm room.

As the countdown to college begins, life at home becomes increasingly complex. With family relationships and childhood friendships strained by change, it suddenly seems that the only people Elizabeth and Lauren can rely on are the complicated new boys in their lives . . . and each other. Even though they’ve never met.

National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr and acclaimed author Tara Altebrando join forces for a novel about growing up, leaving home, and getting that one fateful e-mail that assigns your college roommate.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Netgalley.

Roomies was a special, limited-time download on Netgalley, and I thought it sounded good, so I downloaded it. And I was not disappointed!

I wasn’t sure what to expect when it first started. Roomies started off with Elizabeth, EB, receiving an email from UC- Berkley about her roommate assignment. She decides to send off an email, with visions of her new roommate being her new best friend. However, I couldn’t put it down, and I wasn’t sure why.

Elizabeth and Lauren are about as different as can be. EB is an only child from a broken home in New Jersey, and Lauren is from a huge family in California. Lauren also seems a bit more reserved and is a little hesitant when she first starts emailing with EB.

Once the real story kicked in, and Lauren and EB’s real lives started unfolding, I was instantly hooked. Honestly, it’s hard to even think of what it was that I liked so much. There wasn’t any one specific thing that stuck out for me, but I was just really interested in the story. I liked seeing their new romances unfold and seeing them deal with the reality of how much their lives are about to change. It almost made me sad that I didn’t go away to college!

I was actually really impressed with the main conflict that came near the end of Roomies. It was not what I was expecting, which I really liked. It was different from most books I’ve read.

I loved most of the characters, though I seemed to relate more to Lauren than EB. Honestly, there were some scenes where I wanted to smack both of them, but EB more. But overall, I liked them. I think the guys were my favorite, though. I absolutely loved Mark and Keyon. They were awesome.

My biggest complaint is that I don’t think it’s a series. I really wanted more to the story. I found the lead-up to college so enjoyable that I would love to see more of their lives at college.

Overall, I thought that Roomies was a really good story about growing up and how life changes, and I would definitely recommend it!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “ARC Review – Roomies by Tara Altebrando & Sara Zarr

  1. […] Roomies by Tara Altebrando & Sara Zarr (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

