Review – Vanished by Kristi Holl

Title: Vanished
Author: Kristi Holl
Series: Boarding School Mysteries #1
Next Book: Secrets for Sale
Source: Kindle Freebie

 Description from Goodreads:

Too much vanished to handle? Twelve-year-old Jeri McKane knew that attending boarding school hundreds of miles from home would be hard, but she never imagined anything like this. Her mom— too busy even to answer Jeri’s phone calls and emails—sends the devastating word that she can’t make it to Parents’ Weekend. Then the school bus carrying Jeri’s roommate Rosa mysteriously disappears. A natural sleuth, Jeri knows there are leads to be followed and follows her instincts to discover new dimensions of faith and courage. Can Jeri continue to trust God even in the most confusing of times?

Review

I actually got Vanished as a Kindle freebie back in early 2011, and it proceeded to sit on my Kindle ever since. However, I was trying to finish up my A-Z Title Challenge and needed a V. Of the 3 V’s on my Kindle, Vanished was the shortest and didn’t sound too bad. It served its purpose, but it certainly was not a great book.

I’ve read some Christian books that aren’t too bad or in your face. Vanished was not one of them. It seemed that all too often, Jeri was praying and talking to God. I mean, I believe in God, but I’m not overly religious, so I don’t like to feel like it’s being forced down my throat, especially when I’m reading for pleasure.

Jeri was just a frustrating character. She seemed to always act without thinking and got herself involved in some potentially dangerous situations. For a girl who is supposed to be smart, she made some really dumb decisions and stuck her nose in places where it didn’t belong.

My biggest pet peeve is the ending. It did surprise me a little bit; I’ll give it that. I didn’t predict who the bad guy was. However, it just all came together too easily. I’m sorry, but a 12-year-old girl should not be able to solve a crime that has the police baffled. It just didn’t make sense.

Overall, I guess that Vanished was okay in that I didn’t give up on it, but it was also really short, so I didn’t have to suffer much. I guess I’ll give it 1.5 stars. I didn’t really like it, but I am impressed that the slightly corny story actually managed to surprise me.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Review – Vanished by Kristi Holl

  1. […] Vanished by Kristi Holl (1.5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

