Review – The Queen Bee of Bridgeton by Leslie DuBois

Title: The Queen Bee of Bridgeton
Author: Leslie DuBois
Series: Dancing Dream #1
Next Book: The Devil of DiRisio
Source: Kindle Freebie

 Description from Goodreads:

When fifteen-year-old Sonya Garrison is accepted into the prestigious Bridgeton Academy, she soon discovers that rich girls are just as dangerous as the thugs in her home of Venton Heights…maybe more so. After catching the eye of the star white basketball player and unwittingly becoming the most popular girl in school, she earns the hatred of the three most ruthless and vindictive girls at Bridgeton. Can she defeat the reigning high school royalty? Or will they succeed in ruining her lifelong dream of becoming a world class dancer?

Review

I got The Queen Bee of Bridgeton as a Kindle freebie in early 2012. I actually started reading it not too long after but couldn’t get into it, so I put it down. When I started the A-Z Title Challenge, I figured I’d come back to it, since there aren’t that many Q’s to choose from. I had a much easier time with it the second time around.

Sonya is a teenage black girl (She mentions this innumerable times throughout the story, the fact that she’s black.) She lives in Venton Heights, which is a dangerous section of town, basically the “projects”, but she goes to a fancy private school and is a very talented ballerina with hopes for a future in professional dancing.

Her relationship with Will was just strange to me. I actually really liked the two of them together, but Will’s feelings seemed to come on too strong too soon, and I didn’t really understand it. He’s the popular, promiscuous, white star basketball player, but he is inexplicably drawn to Sonya. Honestly, I thought he was an arrogant jerk at the beginning, but he grew on me.

Her relationship with Will sparks the attention of the Bitch Brigade, and they vow to take her down. I love that she doesn’t just lay down and take it. She sticks to what she wants and fights back.

Honestly, I felt like a lot of the story was really predictable, but there were a few twists at the end that I didn’t see coming, and I thought they were pretty good. I’m thinking about reading the other two books in the trilogy, but not immediately. I’ll probably get around to them.

Overall, I felt like The Queen Bee of Bridgeton was a quick, easy read, and I liked it. I thought the ending was the best part.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Review – The Queen Bee of Bridgeton by Leslie DuBois

  1. […] The Queen Bee of Bridgeton by Leslie DuBois (3 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

