Review – Saved by the Spell by Casey Keen

Title: Saved by the Spell
Author: Casey Keen
Series: Anna Wolfe #2
Previous Book: I’ll Be Damned

Next Book: Untitled, expected 2014
Source: Received from author

 Description from Goodreads:

Two worlds in danger.

A Grand Witch behind bars.

A stunning Werewolf and a devilishly handsome Warlock’s pursuit for her affections.

You think you have it bad? Grand Witch Anna Wolfe awakens to find herself imprisoned by Micah, the Prince of Darkness. Micah’s on a quest for world domination—and it’s not just the Netherworld that’s in danger. The human world is threatened as well. Now, it’s up to Anna to escape from Micah’s clutches so she can locate The Scholars and an ancient book before both fall into the wrong hands.

With a fiercely loyal Werewolf and immensely powerful Warlock by her side, what can go wrong?

A lot apparently.

If fighting off the Prince of Darkness wasn’t enough, Anna’s emotions are a whirlwind, as she battles between what fate demands and what she actually wants.

Review

This book was received from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Wow. When I first started Saved by the Spell, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’ll Be Damned was good but didn’t wow me, but I did like the ending. Saved by the Spell started off a little slowly, what with Anna being held captive and all, but it quickly picked up and was a lot better than its predecessor.

The writing style was a little bit different from I’ll Be Damned. Because Anna was separated from the rest of her crew, the chapters alternated between Anna’s first-person perspective, and a third-person detailing what the others were up to. I got a little confused the first time it happened, but it only took me a couple of paragraphs to catch on to what was going on. I actually really appreciated this. Had we stayed only in Anna’s perspective, we would have lost out on a lot of information!

The characters stayed true to themselves, but I was no longer as impressed with Martello. His diva tendencies started to wear on me! But Janie and Kristy stepped up as a lot stronger than before, and a new character was introduced that I really liked!

There was definitely a lot more action in Saved by the Spell, and I found myself on the edge of my seat several times! It was shorter than I’ll Be Damned, but it still moved a lot faster. The romance was also kicked up a notch, and there were definitely more sex. It wasn’t graphic like erotica, but you definitely knew what was going on. Just a little heads up.

I loved seeing Anna grow more into herself, and I thought that the last 20% was amazing. Unfortunately, I don’t know when the third book is coming out, other than in 2014, and I am dying for it now! I had a feeling one thing that happened at the end would happen, but I never could have guessed how or why, and I need to know what happens next! I would definitely recommend this one!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Review – Saved by the Spell by Casey Keen

  1. Aimi December 30, 2013 at 9:35 am Reply

    Reblogged this on Lost in The World Map.

  2. […] Saved by the Spell by Casey Keen (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

