Mini-Review – Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Fracture Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #2.5
Previous Book: Unravel Me

Next Book: Ignite Me (expected 2/4/14)
Source: Personal Purchase

 Description from Goodreads:

In this electrifying sixty-page companion novella to the New York Timesbestselling Shatter Me series, discover the fate of the Omega Point rebels as they go up against The Reestablishment. Set during and soon after the final moments of Unravel MeFracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective.

As Omega Point prepares to launch an all-out assault on The Reestablishment soldiers stationed in Sector 45, Adam’s focus couldn’t be further from the upcoming battle. He’s reeling from his breakup with Juliette, scared for his best friend’s life, and as concerned as ever for his brother James’s safety. And just as Adam begins to wonder if this life is really for him, the alarms sound. It’s time for war.

On the battlefield, it seems like the odds are in their favor—but taking down Warner, Adam’s newly discovered half brother, won’t be that easy. The Reestablishment can’t tolerate a rebellion, and they’ll do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam has ever cared about.

Fracture Me sets the stage for Ignite Me, the explosive finale in Tahereh Mafi’s epic dystopian series. It’s a novella not to be missed by fans who crave action-packed stories with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu.

Review

I binge-read the two first novels and the novella of the Shatter Me series back in February, and I was dying for more. So as soon as I found out that there was going to be another novella in the Shatter Me series and that I wouldn’t have to wait until February for more in that world, I pre-ordered it right away. I loved Destroy Me and thought that Fracture Me would be another great glimpse at what is going on in the world outside of Juliette. Unfortunately, I didn’t love it as much.

It probably didn’t help that it had been months since I had read Unravel Me (about 10, to be exact), and was a little foggy as to what was going on when Fracture Me picked up, but after a few pages, I figured out where we were. My biggest problem with Fracture Me was actually the narrator. I thought it would be really interesting being in Adam’s head, and it probably would have been if Fracture Me ran concurrently with Destroy Me, but after the events in Unravel Me, I found Adam’s character to become pitiful and almost whiny, and unfortunately, being in his head was not much different. It was very frustrating to hear him whine and complain about Juliette.

What I did like a lot about Fracture Me, though, was getting to see more of what was going on when they went back aboveground. I liked seeing the battle from a soldier’s eyes and seeing what happened after Juliette was taken. The ending actually surprised me quite a bit, which I really liked and got me even more excited for Ignite Me (not that I thought that was possible). I liked the story as a whole but almost wish for a different narrator. Perhaps Kenji? That would have been interesting!

Overall, I liked Fracture Me but didn’t feel that it lived up to its predecessors.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Mini-Review – Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. amandasnoseinabook January 2, 2014 at 10:07 am Reply

    This series is one I definitely plan to read in 2014!

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 9, 2014 at 10:37 am Reply

      Do it! I really liked it, but if you haven’t started yet, I’d wait until Feb 4th, when the last book comes out. I hate waiting for books!

      • amandasnoseinabook January 9, 2014 at 4:34 pm

        I just bought the first book and a bunch of other books as well, so if I only get to the first one, I can wait til Feb to read the rest of the series 🙂

      • Mommy's Reading Break January 21, 2014 at 9:53 pm

        I didn’t like the first book as much, but the second really hooked me. Now I’m just hoping for an epic finale, and not a big disappointment!

  2. […] Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi (3 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

