Book-to-Movie Friday #6: The Twilight Saga: New Moon

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

The Twilight Saga: New Moon

This month’s Book-to-Movie Fridays will focus on the Twilight Saga movies. Most of you have probably already seen them, but I want to talk about my feelings about them anyway!

 

Since New Moon was my first midnight premiere I ever planned to go to, I was super excited for it. However, right from the previews, I knew there were going to be some things that really bothered me. For one thing, though I predicted it, Jacob’s transformation into a werewolf was a bit of a mystery and took a while to be revealed in the book. However, there it was right in the trailer, Jacob turning into a werewolf. So disappointing!

I also thought it was really strange that they changed Bella hearing Edward’s voice to seeing visions of him, at first. Then I realized that just hearing his voice wouldn’t translate as well on film, especially for the teenage girls who were in love with Robert Pattinson. lol

There were little things that bothered me about the movie: the fact that Jasper was still in school with them (he had already graduated in the book), the chase scene in the woods, and the fight toward the end. I know that they needed to add more action scenes to keep the movie interesting, but it still really bothered me when they added things that were nowhere in the books (I still struggle with this but am getting better). Overall, though, I thought that New Moon was a pretty good adaptation. It was a million times better than Twilight was.

My one major pet peeve, though it’s minor in the grand scheme of things: Jacob’s height. Taylor Lautner is shorter than Robert Pattinson, which works find for Twilight, but as the series progresses, Jacob is supposed to grow at a rapid pace and be 6’7″ by the end of Eclipse. Obviously, they can’t really make Taylor Lautner grow, but if they can make Hagrid look like a giant in Harry Potter, they could have used special effects to make him look taller.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Book-to-Movie Friday #6: The Twilight Saga: New Moon

  1. […] The Twilight Saga: New Moon […]

Leave a Reply

