Book-to-Movie Friday #7: The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Yes, I know it’s Saturday and not Friday, but I forgot to post this yesterday. Rather than skipping a week, I decided to just post it today, especially since I (shockingly) didn’t get any new books this week!

 

Eclipse is my favorite book in the Twilight series, so I was really excited for the movie, and I was not disappointed. Sure, as usual, they gave some things away, okay, a lot of things away, too early, but for the most part, I thought it was a good adaptation.

I wish that they had left some more mystery in the Victoria situation because that is one of the big things in the book, but I guess it isn’t that big of a deal. I did think it was kind of cool how they included scenes from The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. Can you imagine how boring it would be if they had tried to make a movie out of that itself?  I don’t know. I’m torn. Because it was nice to see a little bit of what else was going on, but I liked the mystery, so it’s hard to say what I liked better.

Honestly, my biggest complaint was the big fight scene. The way the vampires shattered like ice was just kind of lame. I remember just rolling my eyes. I’ve gotten used to it since, but I still think it’s just a little silly. Oh, and the whole scene in the woods with how Harry Clearwater died. I hate when they overcomplicate things. It’s just silly.

While I really liked Rachelle Lefevre as Victoria in the previous two movies, I thought that if she had to be recast, Bryce Dallas Howard was a good choice. She had the perfect voice, in my opinion. I remember the part of the book when Bella first hears her voice and is surprised by it, and Bryce’s voice was exactly how I imagined it.

Overall, though, given the limited amount of time available in a movie, and the need for changes, I thought that Eclipse was a very good adaptation of the book, and miles away from the first movie.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Book-to-Movie Friday #7: The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

  1. […] The Twilight Saga: Eclipse […]

Leave a Reply

