Series Review – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (audio version)

Titles: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Author: J.K. Rowling
Narrator: Jim Dale
Source: Library

Review

I’ve read Harry Potter several times, but after hearing many people rave about them, I decided to check out the audio version for my most recent read-through. I will say that it went a lot slower than it would have if I had been reading them, but it was also nice to intersperse my Harry Potter reread with some new books and to hear them in a new way.

I thought that overall, Jim Dale did a really good job with the narration, though some of his voices really bothered me. Hermione’s and Luna’s were just weird, and I sometimes had a really hard time distinguishing between Harry and Ron, among some other characters. I did really like Dumbledore’s, Snape’s, and Malfoy’s voices, along with Hagrid’s and McGonagall’s. I thought that they were right on with how I pictured them, and that Dale’s version of Dumbledore was more believable that Michael Gambon’s performance in the movies.

One thing that I did notice that I found a little weird was that some of the pronunciations changed over time. A couple of times, I noticed different pronunciations, even within the same book (Goblet of Fire) of animagus. Also, from watching the movies, I got used to one pronunciation of “Accio”, which was pronounced differently in the book. Oh, and for books 1-4, Voldemort was pronounced without the “t”, yet it was suddenly added in book 5.

Overall, though, I really enjoyed the audio version of Harry Potter, and I would both listen to them again and recommend them. I would recommend reading Harry Potter in any and every form possible!

However, I still find that for me, the audio didn’t actually match the reading. I found it easier for my mind to wander than when I read the books, which happens with audios in general for me, so depending on how adamant I am about reading, I would probably choose to read the physical books more often.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Series Review – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (audio version)

  1. Jeyna Grace January 19, 2014 at 11:57 pm Reply

    Audio books make my mind wander too. I still prefer reading.

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 21, 2014 at 9:57 pm Reply

      I do, too, though some audio books have been amazing, and I’m so glad I read them that way. I think it might have been easier if it was my first time through Harry Potter, since I would have been so enthralled with the story, but at the 5th and 6th times…

  2. […] Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling (audio only 4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

