Review – Revealed by P.C. & Kristin Cast

Title: Revealed
Author: P.C. & Kristin Cast
Series: House of Night #11

Previous Book: Hidden
Next Book: Redeemed (expected 10/14/2014)
Source: Personal purchase

 Description from Goodreads:

Drastically altered after her fall at the end of Hidden, Neferet is now more dangerous than ever—and her quest for vengeance will wreak havoc on humans, as well as Zoey and her friends. Chaos is loosed in Tulsa and the House of Night is blamed. Can Zoey stop Neferet in time to keep her anger from escalating to full-on war? Or will someone else have to step in to take the fall?

The House of Night series is an international phenomenon, reaching #1 on U.S., German, and UK bestseller lists, and remaining a fixture on The New York Times Children’s Series bestseller list for nearly 150 weeks and counting. With more than 12 million copies in print, rights sold in thirty–eight countries to date, and relatable, addictive characters, this series is unstoppable. Now, in the eleventh and penultimate installment of the series, the action is more intense and the stakes even higher as Zoey and her friends battle to protect their school and home from devastating evil—all while balancing romances, precarious friendships and the daily drama of the House of Night’s halls.

Review

I’m really struggling with what to say about Revealed. I have been reading the House of Night series since 2009. After over 4 years and now 11 books (plus 3 novellas), I’m definitely reading just to see what happens and not so much out of pure interest anymore. At times, I feel like the series has started to drag and that a 12-book series is just too long.

The first chapter of Revealed was pretty good, but in reading the Wikipedia page for Hidden, to remind myself what happened, I read about an epilogue that had been posted online, which ended up being exactly what the first chapter of Revealed was, so I knew what was happening. However, I’m glad that it was there, since not everyone reads the authors’ blogs.

My biggest complaint about Revealed, or the House of Night series in general at this point, is that I’m just sick of Neferet. Seriously, the bitch just needs to die already. She should have died about 6 books ago. It’s getting really tiresome watching them pretty much just escape over and over, rather than actually defeat her. I don’t see why Neferet couldn’t have been defeated and a new evil take over. That way, I feel like the series wouldn’t have been as monotonous.

Revealed wasn’t necessarily bad, but I felt like not much happened throughout it. As typical for these books, the ending was the best part, but usually there’s more lead-up. I just felt like Revealed was a bit too everyday-life and very little tension, unless you count the romantic tension between Zoey, Stark, and Aurox/Heath.

Overall, I was just disappointed. There was a kind of twist at the end, that I’m not sure how it’s really going to affect the last book, but I also felt like it was kind of a letdown. It was a storyline that almost feels like it’s been done before. Based on Revealed alone, I would not recommend it. However, I still like the series as a whole, and if you’ve made it to book 10, you might as well read Revealed and the final book, coming this fall. But I’m definitely ready for this series to be over.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Review – Revealed by P.C. & Kristin Cast

  1. Jac @ For Love and Books January 20, 2014 at 9:59 am Reply

    Part of me wants to hurry up and get completely caught up with HoN, but part of me? Not so much. I’m afraid that it just goes down hill from where I’m at 😦

    Jac @ For Love and Books

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 21, 2014 at 9:59 pm Reply

      Which book are you on? It definitely seemed to go down hill after Burned. At this point, I’d wait until after I read the last book, and then I’ll let you know if it’s worth finishing. 😉

  2. bookgeeking January 20, 2014 at 3:05 pm Reply

    I stopped at book 5, I think the first one was amazing then the rest just dragged I honestly think that the later ones could have been condensed into fewer books and they would have been so much better. I cannot even face any more of it.

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 21, 2014 at 9:59 pm Reply

      I thought they were pretty good through about 7 or 8. Now they’re starting to drag, but I have to finish. I only have one book left.

      • bookgeeking January 22, 2014 at 2:44 pm

        Glad you enjoy them, I read them one after the other so I probably put myself off of them, I should have read a few books in between each.

      • Mommy's Reading Break February 2, 2014 at 8:32 pm

        Yeah, I started them in 2009, so I read the first 5, then a couple books, then 6, and then I read 7-11 as they came out. They are getting kind of tedious, but with one book left, I might as well finish the series!

      • bookgeeking February 3, 2014 at 1:47 pm

        Hope you enjoy it 🙂

  3. […] Revealed by P.C. & Kristin Cast (3 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

