Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist

https://mommysreadingbreak.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/ttt3w.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic for Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist. The description says “(if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a time period, a certain plot, etc.)”. However, I have no ideas of things I wish would be written that haven’t. So I’m interpreting this a little differently. Instead, I’m going to talk about books or series that I loved, and what more I wish the authors would write about. I’ll preface it with the series, in case it gets a little spoiler-y.

  1. Harry Potter (Dumbledore): Harry Potter is 7 books and 4,100 pages long, and yet there’s so much more to the story that we never get. I just recently finished another reread of the series, and I still have a lot of questions! We hear a little bit about Dumbledore’s past, but I want more. I’d love a book (or novella) that talks a little bit more about Grindelwald and the lead-up to his epic duel with Dumbledore!
  2. Harry Potter (The Marauder Years): Harry learns some things about his parents, their friends, and his parents’ odd relationships with Snape, but I definitely want more. I want to know more about what Snape was doing while he was at Hogwarts. I want to know how the Marauders created the map. I want to know how Lily and James ended up together, since she seemed to despise him in their fifth year. And I’d love to know more about what they were all doing between leaving Hogwarts and the Potters’ deaths.
  3. Harry Potter (The Later Years): Here’s a spoiler if you haven’t read the series: There’s a big gap between the final chapter and the epilogue, 19 years (which isn’t a huge spoiler, since you can find that out just by reading the Table of Contents). In interviews, Jo has given us a little bit more information about what happens in this time, but I want to know more. I want to see how the couples officially get together and get married, and I want to know what happened to the Dursleys and Hogwarts after the final battle.
  4. Harry Potter (Voldemort): Let’s face it, though he’s evil, Voldemort is probably one of the most interesting characters in the Harry Potter series. How could someone be that evil? I would be interested in reading a little more about him, and I’d love to know how he got his rudimentary body back in Goblet of Fire and how he created his horcruxes. Jo says she knows this, but she’s never actually divulged.
  5. Soul Screamers: The big, important things are dealt with at the end of the 7th book, but I still had a few questions, so I wish that Rachel would address those, specifically what happened to Thane and the full story on the soul-exchange thing with Kaylee’s parents. I know she’s written another short story that will appear in the fourth anthology, so I may get this wish, depending on what it’s about!
  6. Parallel: Parallel by Lauren Miller was one of my favorite books last year, and it was one of the first standalones that I wished wasn’t! The ending was pretty much perfect, but I loved the story so much that I would love to see more, either what happens after the end or more of a companion novel where something similar happens to someone else.
  7. Fangirl: I really liked Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, though I thought the ending was a little abrupt. However, from the descriptions and snippets, I want Rainbow to write the Simon Snow books! They sound kind of similar to Harry Potter, but interesting in their own way, so I would love to read them!
  8. Twilight: Let’s face it, Twilight is kind of cheesy. But I LOVED this series, and I would definitely love to know more about what happens to the Cullens and the werewolves after the end of the book. Does Leah find love? Do the Volturi leave them alone? Is there another battle? Do they live happily ever after, or do some of the Cullens die? There’s not even an Epilogue, and I NEED MORE INFORMATION!
  9. The Host: Stephenie Meyer has said that she sees The Host as a trilogy but that she’s not sure whether she’s going to write it. Well, this is my wishlist, and I want more of this story! I’m not as tied up in the love lives of the characters as knowing what happens outside them. Are there more Souls that are sympathetic to the humans? Do all the humans die? She needs to finish this series.
  10. Unearthly: Oh my goodness, I can’t believe I almost forgot this one! Unearthly was easily one of the best series I’ve ever read, but I want a little bit more. We know what happens to Clara and Tucker and even Angela, but I would love even a short story set in the future, so we know a little bit more about what happens to Christian. I’d love a story from his perspective!
Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist

  1. Reviews from a Bookworm January 21, 2014 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Ha glad to see I wasn’t the only one who would LOVE a new HP series! I really want a prequel series that focuses on Lily & James – how they met and eventually fell in love, all the way up until they die. I’d also love to see Snape as a kid, how he came to love Lily and make all the decisions he made. It would be AMAZING!

    Also happy to see I wasn’t the only person who struggled to think of things this week! My TTT 🙂

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 21, 2014 at 10:00 pm Reply

      As you saw, I would take just about any and every story set in that world, though I will admit I’m not as excited about the Fantastic Beasts movies coming out as I would be if it was a story that contained some of the characters we grew to love in the original series. I wish Jo was a little more like Cassandra Clare (minus the plagiarism, obviously) and just kept writing spin-off series!

  2. Katie @ Book Savvy January 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm Reply

    On #3, I actually forgot about the Dursleys when finishing Harry Potter! Now, I really want to know what happened to them!!!!!! What if Dudley had a kid who was a wizard?!?!?! Nice list! I like how you interpreted the question differently.
    Check out my TTT list and please follow my blog, Book Savvy: http://booksavvyblog.blogspot.com/

    • Mommy's Reading Break January 21, 2014 at 10:01 pm Reply

      I actually read somewhere that Jo had considered having Dudley with a magical child on the platform in the Epilogue but decided against it. That would have been kind of cool!

  3. Jac @ For Love and Books January 22, 2014 at 10:55 am Reply

    I love your spin on this question!! (I wish I had your thought process! LOL!!)

    I would LOVE more Parallel and more FanGirl! (And the HP ones are dead on too!)

    Jac @ For Love and Books

Leave a Reply

