ARC Review – Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee

Title: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
Author: Karen Foxlee
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Netgalley
Release Date: 1/28/2014

 Description from Goodreads:

A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn’t believe in anything that can’t be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia’s help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy’s own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Netgalley.

I’m struggling with what to say about Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy. Nothing really stood out to me. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either.

I think part of my problem with Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy is that while it is advertised as a Middle Grade novel, it read a lot younger to me. In my mind, Harry Potter and Percy Jackson are Middle Grade, and Chronicles of Narnia and His Dark Materials are Children’s books. Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy definitely read more like a Chronicles of Narnia, which is not what I was expecting.

Ophelia’s mother has died, and her father is working almost non-stop on a sword exhibition at a large mysterious museum. During her explorations of the museum, she finds a mysterious boy locked in a room and ends up going on a quest to free him.

Because of what I assume to be the target audience of Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy, the obstacles weren’t too great and were fairly easy to overcome. I also found quite a bit of it to be very predictable.

Overall, I did find Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy to be a cute story, and I think that younger kids would like it (I’m trying to convince my 7-year-old to read it), but for me, it was just okay.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Advertisements

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “ARC Review – Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee

  1. […] Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee (2 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s