Book-to-Movie Friday #8: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

 

I think that the Breaking Dawn movies were the first ones that actually got the adaptation right. I missed the opening scene from the book with Bella in her new car just because it was funny. It wasn’t really integral to the plot, so I understand why it was left out, but I think the humorous aspect might have been nice.

I didn’t really have any complaints about the movie that I can remember, other than stupid little things, like there being only one bedroom, instead of two on their honeymoon, but that was minor. I was a little baffled by the fact that a conversation that happened in the first book was put in the fourth movie, but again, not a big deal. Oh, and the werewolves telepathic voices were kind of cheesy, but they got the point across.

I did miss the fact that we got a big chunk of the book from Jacob’s point-of-view, but that would have been harder to translate to film. We did manage to see some of what was going on with him, but I really liked seeing his internal struggle in the book. There is actually a deleted scene in the movie that was released with the extended edition that is one of my favorites. It’s probably one of the funniest scenes from the book, and I think they should have left it in. Breaking Dawn Part 1 really lacked a lot of the humor that was in the books and previous movies.

Oh! I just thought of something that bothered me about the movie. It’s totally minor, but it’s my favorite quote from all four books:

“I told you—,” I started to say.

“Did you know that ‘I told you so’ has a brother, Jacob?” she asked, cutting me off. “His name is ‘Shut the hell up.'”

Okay, so it’s actually a quote from The Simpsons, I guess, but I loved it.

I thought the added fight was pretty good because it didn’t seem added for no reason. Since we skip a few days when we switch between Jacob’s and Bella’s perspectives in the book, this actually could have happened off-page. I also liked finding some things out a little sooner this time around.

The ending was my favorite part. I had a feeling while watching that the movie would end the way it did, and I thought it was just perfect! This movie definitely adapted the book right!

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Book-to-Movie Friday #8: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

  1. […] The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 1 […]

Leave a Reply

