DNF Review – Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Title: Eleanor & Park
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Series: No
Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

TWO MISFITS. ONE EXTRAORDINARY LOVE. 
It’s 1986 and two star-crossed teens are smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love–and just how hard it pulled you under.

 A cross between the iconic ’80s movie Sixteen Candles and the classic coming-of-age novel Looking for Alaska, Eleanor & Park is a brilliantly written young adult novel.

Review

I’ve seen Eleanor & Park a lot around the blogosphere. So many people raved about it last year, it was crazy! Yet when I read the synopsis, it didn’t seem that appealing to me. This has been known to happen to me before, but usually I end up liking it. This time, I should have trusted my instincts. It pains me to write this, knowing how many people loved this book, but I just couldn’t bring myself to finish.

I had a lot of problems with Eleanor & Park from the beginning, starting right off with the titular characters, Eleanor and Park. I just didn’t really like either of them, but especially Eleanor. They were both just so negative and down all the time. Even the beginning of their relationship just didn’t make sense to me. Other than reading comic books together, there really didn’t seem to be anything that drew them together. They just weren’t believable.

I read the first 33% of Eleanor & Park (approximately 110 pages), and I was just bored. I didn’t find anything interesting happening at all, but I also had a sense of foreboding. I had a feeling that something bad was going to happen with Eleanor’s stepfather, and I just wasn’t in a place to want to read that. I read some reviews and spoilers, and even knowing what happened in the end, I was not the least bit interested to find out how they got there.

Due to the overwhelming amount of people that have loved this book, I’m not going to say not to read it. There’s a good chance you may be one of the many who do like it. However, it was definitely not the book for me, and I decided not to finish it.

(Now please don’t stone me!)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “DNF Review – Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. […] Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (DNF) […]

Leave a Reply

