Review – Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

Title: Incarnate
Author: Jodi Meadows
Series: Newsoul #1

Next Book: Asunder
Source: Personal Purchase

 Description from Goodreads:

NEWSOUL
Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

NOSOUL
Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

HEART
Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

Review

I read Incarnate as a buddy read within one of my Goodreads groups. I had bought it last year, so the  buddy read was a good reason to read it.

I thought that Incarnate started off really strongly, with Ana leaving her childhood home and almost immediately running into danger. This would have sucked me in really quickly, but I felt like things slowed way down after that. I never disliked the story, but it took a very, very long time to fully captivate me.

I loved Sam. He was such a sweet guy, and I loved that not only did he not look at Ana with disgust, but he also defended her against all of those that did. And there was quite the interesting cast of characters, with many both for and against Ana. Ana was a little frustrating because she was raised very poorly by her mother, Li, so she had a very hard time trusting that anyone else, especially Sam, could even so much as like her.

At about 80%, things really picked up, and I was hooked, trying to see what would happen next and what on earth was going on. And I was surprised continually. I’m not thrilled that it took so long to hook me, but I never disliked Incarnate or was bored. I just wasn’t completely sucked in.

I thought the end was really great. Believe it or not, I really didn’t see it coming, and it intrigued me. I will definitely be reading the sequel to see what happens next!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

  1. […] Incarnate by Jodi Meadows (3 stars) […]

  2. Angie February 1, 2014 at 9:26 pm Reply

    I really enjoy this series. I don’t know why.. I guess thinking souls just keep coming back sounds neat to me. I am waiting for the third book to come into the library!!

    Angie
    Angela’s Anxious Life

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 2, 2014 at 8:44 pm Reply

      I haven’t read the second book yet. I think I’m waiting for it to come in at the library. I’ve heard the series gets better. I hope so!

Leave a Reply

