Book-to-Movie Friday #8: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2

 

If Breaking Dawn Part 1 was good, Breaking Dawn Part 2 was great! Seriously, I cannot even explain how much I love this movie. It was one of the best adaptations I’ve ever seen, and not in spite of the changes but because of them.

For the first probably 3/4 of the movie, it stayed very true to the book. Certain things were cut back, such as Bella finding J. Jenks, which made me happy. I felt like that part was a little bit too drawn out in the book, so I thought cutting it down for the film was perfect.

We saw a few other things that we didn’t really see in the book, such as the other Cullens (and the Volturi) finding other people to help, and again, I thought it was nice to be able to see a little more of what goes on outside of Bella.

My favorite part (now) is the twist. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I won’t spoil it (though if you haven’t seen the movie yet, I’m really surprised if you haven’t already been spoiled), but I hated it the first time I watched it. It was something that wasn’t explicitly in the book (though Stephenie Meyer says on her website (http://stepheniemeyer.com/ Scroll down to November 26, 2012) that it was off-page but not completely out of left field. Anyway, some things happened that I wasn’t a fan of while watching it, but once everything was complete, I thought it was great. It was a nice way to add something extra since let’s face it, most (a lot?) of people seeing these movies have read the books, so it’s hard to be surprised, but surprised I was. I wasn’t expecting this to happen, and it worked super well.

I can’t even believe I’m about to say this, but I think that I might actually like Breaking Dawn Part 2 a teensy tiny bit more than the book! It was just perfect to me!

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Book-to-Movie Friday #8: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2

  1. Jacque January 31, 2014 at 12:04 pm Reply

    I love the twist! (It took me about three watches to warm up to it – because it wasn’t in the book, and I tend to be a purist like that – which I know is stupid.)

    Now you have me wanting to watch again… LOL!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 2, 2014 at 8:43 pm Reply

      As I was watching, I was so pissed because it wasn’t in the book, but after I realized where it was coming from, I thought it was brilliant!

  2. […] The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2 […]

Leave a Reply

