Harry marries Hermione? – Harry Potter discussion

It’s Monday, so normally I would be posting a book review. However, I decided after reading this article that I would interrupt my usual scheduling to talk about it.

If you’ve read this blog before, you probably know that even though I was about 12 years late to the party, I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan! And it’s funny, but as I’ve been reading Goblet of Fire along with the Alohomora podcast that I really think Harry and Hermione would have made a better couple than what actually happened. And then I read that article, and it seems Jo Rowling herself agrees with the Harmony shippers.

It’s hard for me to really pinpoint exact moments that make me think Harry and Hermione would make a great couple. A couple that I can think of are in Goblet of Fire when Ron doesn’t believe Harry didn’t put his name in for the tournament, but Hermione does. She’s the one who’s always there for Harry and always has his best interests in mind (*ahem* the Firebolt *ahem*). I also just finished my own reread of the series, and it really struck me in Deathly Hallows, especially the scenes in Godric’s Hollow that Hermione and Harry just make sense.

However, with the way the books are written, Jo couldn’t just go back and rewrite the Epilogue and have a happily ever after for Harry and Hermione. Let’s face it, the groundwork for the Ron and Hermione relationship is really set in Goblet of Fire. (Some people say they had hints even earlier, but I think that GoF really smacks you in the face with it). From Ron’s jealousy when Hermione goes to the Yule Ball with Viktor Krum in GoF to Hermione’s jealousy when Ron starts dating Lavender to Ron and Hermione seemingly falling asleep holding hands in Deathly Hallows, the clues that they will end up together are numerous.

So, without rewriting all of that, I think that we’d see a very, very different scenario in the Epilogue if that were the only thing changed. For a minimum of 3 books, we see that Ron has feelings for Hermione, though he himself may not be aware of them just yet. As the Epilogue stands, Ron and Hermione are married with kids, Harry and Ginny are married with kids, and they’re all friends and happy. However, I think that if Harry and Hermione got married, and the rest of the series stayed the same, I don’t think the friendship between Ron and Harry (and even Hermione and Ron) could stand. Ron already has feelings for Hermione and an inferiority complex in regards to Harry (as evidenced by the Horcrux vision), so do you really think he’d just be okay and happy with Harry and Hermione ending up together?

Here’s the only way I think things could work: Either books 4 through 7 would have to be rewritten to take out the Hermione/Ron romantic tension. Or books 4 and 5 could stand, but in book 6, when Ron starts dating Lavender (or someone else), he’d have to realize his feelings for Hermione were just friendly and really fall in love with Lavender (or someone else), leaving the door open for Harry to get together with Hermione, instead of Ginny. Or, as I said before, Ron would have to drop out of the picture, either by dying a heroic death, and Harry and Hermione grow together while grieving, or by not returning after her left in Deathly Hallows. Honestly, I think it would break a lot of hearts if they got all the way through Deathly Hallows, only to find out that Harry and Ron had had a falling out between the end of the battle with Voldemort and the epilogue. Ron leaving during the camping scene and not coming back would open the door for Harry and Hermione to get together (since those scenes already hint that that could happen) with an earlier fallout. I’d like to believe that everything could stay the same and Ron and Harry could still remain friends, but that just doesn’t seem to be in Ron’s personality to me.

With that being said, though, Ron is not one of my favorite characters in the Harry Potter series, so I could probably be on board if Jo wanted to rewrite the series in any way. I definitely agree that Harry/Hermione makes more sense than Ron/Hermione. However, I highly doubt she’s just going to change the series now. So I’ll just pretend she did.

(FYI, I never really saw myself as a Harmony shipper until my most recent read-through, and especially since reading this article. You learn something new everyday! lol)

What about you? Have you read this article? Do you agree with Jo about how it should have ended? Do you agree with me that a major overhaul would be needed on the series for it to work? Or do you disagree entirely? Leave me a comment and let’s discuss!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Harry marries Hermione? – Harry Potter discussion

  1. Monique LeBlanc February 3, 2014 at 6:15 pm Reply

    I really enjoyed this article. Like you I was a little late starting the series (23) but it goes down as some if my most favourite books ever. Ron was never my favourite character, he’s too much of a whiner and I never thought he was good enough for Hermione. However, I don’t think that Harry and her belonged together either. I love that Harry and Ginny ended up together, it seemed sort of fated to me. Ginny had a crush on Harry from the start and after he saved her in the Chamber of Secrets I always rooted for them to end up together. Just my thoughts 🙂

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 9, 2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

      Harry and Ginny do make a good couple, but I kind of agree with Jo about Ron and Hermione. They had such a dysfunctional relationship!

Leave a Reply

