Review – Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Ignite Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #3

Previous Book: Unravel Me (#2), Fracture Me (#2.5)
Source: Personal Purchase

 Description from Goodreads:

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam – was wrong.

Review

I’m not even sure how to write the review for Ignite Me without a whole lot of flailing and fangirling! It was just so great! I will admit that I was actually a little nervous to read Ignite Me. I had been waiting for it for a year and was so very excited, but after Allegiant, I was unsure as to whether it would live up to my expectations. I am so glad that I dived right in and that it definitely met my expectations!

Ignite Me picks up immediately after Unravel Me ends, with Juliette waking up after being shot by Anderson and saved by Warner. She learns the believed fate of the rest of her friends at Omega Point and immediately starts learning some new revelations about Warner. She decides that she is going to kill Anderson and fight the Reestablishment or die trying. There starts her training and planning.

There is a lot of character development in Ignite Me. Along with Juliette, we learn more and more about Warner and realize that he’s not the monster we initially believed him to be (Then again, if you’ve read Destroy Me, this is not a big surprise.) We also see Adam’s bad side. But by far, the most growth is by Juliette herself. She really comes into her own and gains a lot of confidence in Ignite Me. It’s really amazing to see. And Kenji. These books just wouldn’t be the same without Kenji. He’s a great friend but also lends some much needed comic relief when things start getting dark.

The friendship between Kenji and Juliette is just a great. I really liked their interactions and also got a little suspicious that Tahereh might throw a wrench in the Team Warner/Team Adam debate by just putting Juliette with Kenji, but I was seriously hoping that she wouldn’t as it’s nice to actually see a male/female friendship that doesn’t have to progress into romance, though I wouldn’t have been too unhappy if that’s the way it had gone. I won’t spoil and tell you anything about how this triangle (square?) is resolved, but I think it worked out the way it should have and worked very well. Obviously, there are going to be a lot of unhappy readers, but that’s unavoidable when dealing with a love triangle.

I thought that the main battle was handled very well, and I loved seeing Juliette really fight and stand up for herself. My biggest complaint is that I was left with questions at the end. Not really major questions; everything was summed up really nicely. But as I tend to do with my favorite books, I always wonder what else happens. What do they do after we leave them? Or in the case of epilogues, what happened in between? But that’s more a sign of a great book/series than poor writing, and I think wanting more is inevitable!

Overall, I thought that Ignite Me was the perfect conclusion to the Shatter Me series, and I would HIGHLY recommend it!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Review – Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. @eBook_Girl February 12, 2014 at 7:11 pm Reply

    This cover looks amazing.

  2. […] Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

