ARC Review – Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Title: Maybe One Day
Author: Melissa Kantor
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Edelweiss
Release Date: 2/18/2014

 Description from Goodreads:

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Edelweiss.

I requested Maybe One Day while I was on a HarperTeen binge, and I didn’t really know much about it. I’m so, so glad that I got approved and read it, though. It really was a great book!

Maybe One Day has been compared to John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, and I think that that comparison is fair. It is both a heartwarming and heartbreaking story about teens with cancer. But what I loved most about it is that while there is romance in the story, it is not the central relationship. Maybe One Day is a story about friendship, and Zoe and Olivia have a beautiful one.

The characters are so incredibly real in Maybe One Day. I love Olivia’s bubbly personality, even though she gets sick. Sometimes she needs to be angry, mopey, or just plain depressed, but I think that’s understandable, given what she’s going through. However, she definitely seems to be a more upbeat personality most of the time. Calvin is just such a sweet guy. I also love seeing his relationship with Jake, Olivia’s brother. Zoe, our narrator, actually frustrated me a little bit. She just has a pessimistic personality, or maybe cynical is a better word for it. She doubts herself and her interactions with just about everybody other than Olivia. And she refuses to even entertain the idea that Olivia might not make it. But I can’t say I blame her. Who wants to think about their best friend dying at any age, but especially as a child/teen?

It’s really hard to say too much else about Maybe One Day without spoiling it, but I thought it was beautifully written. I will admit that I cried while reading it, both happy and sad tears at different parts. It was definitely worth the read, and I would recommend it. Just keep a box of tissues handy, just in case!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Advertisements

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “ARC Review – Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

  1. […] Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor (4 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s