Book-to-Movie Friday #10: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

 

Watching Sea of Monsters was what made me reread the Percy Jackson series because in watching, I realized that I didn’t remember anything about the books. After rereading, I’m not surprised. The movie is so different from the book.

First of all, we completely miss everything that happens before Percy gets to camp. The movie starts off with Percy at camp, competing in something against Clarisse. Finally! She was a big part of the first book but was completely left out of the movie. I love the actress who plays her, so I’ll forgive the fact that she looks nothing like she’s supposed to.

There are some things that are the same as the book: Thalia’s tree is dying, so they need a quest to get the Golden Fleece to cure it. Clarisse gets the quest, and Percy, Annabeth, and Tyson sneak off and join her. There are also a couple of other little things that are the same, but for the most part, everything is different. There are so many creatures cut out, and the whole Grover storyline, it’s a little ridiculous. Also, the very, very ending was the same. That’s about it. A lot of the changes just didn’t make sense. I could see some cutting for time purposes, but completely changing almost everything just seems silly.

As a movie itself, Sea of Monsters was pretty good. It was definitely action-packed and interesting to watch. However, as a book adaptation, I was not impressed.

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Book-to-Movie Friday #10: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

  1. amandasnoseinabook February 14, 2014 at 9:22 am Reply

    I started watching this movie the other day and had to stop to run errands. It didn’t seem like the greatest movie adaptation, but seemed entertaining.

    • Mommy's Reading Break February 23, 2014 at 11:28 am Reply

      It was a pretty good movie in its own right, but it veered so far away from the book!

  2. […] Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters […]

Leave a Reply

