Review – Athena the Brain by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams

Title: Athena the Brain
Author: Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams
Series: Goddess Girls #1

Next Book: Persephone the Phony
Source: Library

 Description from Goodreads:

In Athena the Brain, Athena always knew she was smart and special, but she didn’t realize that she was a goddess! When she’s whisked away to Mount Olympus Academy, she worries about fitting in and dealing with her dad (Zeus). Luckily, she meets the Goddess Girls and finds the best friends she’s ever had.

Review

After reading the first couple books in the Percy Jackson series again, I decided that I wanted more Greek Mythology, so I did a Goodreads search, and I found the Goddess Girls series. They say that they’re aimed to ages 8-12 (similar to Percy Jackson and Harry Potter), and they looked cute, so I decided to give them a try.

Athena thinks she’s human until she gets a letter from her dad, Zeus, letting her know that she’s a goddess and being sent to Mount Olympus Academy. Once there, she has all new things she needs to learn, makes a few friends and a couple of enemies.

I thought that Athena the Brain was cute, but it definitely read as a very young book. Though it has the same age range as Percy Jackson, I feel like it’s geared more towards the lower end, 8-9, whereas Percy is more toward the higher end of the age range. Very little happened in Athena the Brain, and when something did come up, it seemed to be overcome a little too easily.

However, I thought that Athena and her friends, and the authors’ take on Greek Mythology was a little cute, so I decided to continue on in  the series. I can’t necessarily say whether I’d recommend it because it definitely read really young, but if you like that kind of thing, you might like it. I think kids would like it, though I’m not sure if I can get my daughter to read it. I might try!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Review – Athena the Brain by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams

  1. […] Athena the Brain by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams (2.5 stars) […]

Leave a Reply

