DNF ARC Review – 5 Conversations You Must Have With Your Daughter by Vicki Courtney

Title: 5 Conversations You Must Have with Your Daughter
Author: Vicki Courtney
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Netgalley
Release Date: 1/1/2008

 Description from Goodreads:

From the cradle to college, tell your daughters the truth about life before they believe the culture’s lies.
For mothers with girls newborn to eighteen, Five Conversations You Must Have with Your Daughter is simply a must-have book. Youth culture commentator Vicki Courtney helps moms pinpoint and prepare the discussions that should be ongoing in their daughters’ formative years.

To fully address the dynamic social and spiritual issues and influencers at hand, several chapters are written for each of the conversations, which are:
1. You are more than the sum of your parts
2. Don’t be in such a hurry to grow up
3. Sex is great and worth the wait
4. It’s OK to dream about marriage and motherhood
5. Girls gone wild are a dime a dozen—dare to be virtuous

The book is linked to online bonus features offering invaluable tips on having these conversations across the various stages of development: five and under, six to eleven, twelve and up.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Netgalley.

As the mom of three daughters, this seemed like the perfect book for me, and I really liked the description. However, the execution just didn’t work for me.

I got to 40% before I just couldn’t read anymore. The overall idea of 5 Conversations was pretty good, but reading it just frustrated me. I found the chapters and explanations to be repetitive. Also, I’m not hugely religious, so the huge focus on God, Christian friends, Christian girls, etc, didn’t apply to me.  However, what ultimately made me stop reading was that I just didn’t agree with some of the author’s viewpoints. At times, her tone and remarks just came across as judgmental and condescending, and I could no longer deal with it.

If you’re a Christian mother to daughters, 5 Conversations You Must Have with Your Daughter may appeal to you, so I’m not going to tell you to avoid it. However, it just wasn’t the book for me.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

