ARC Review – Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski

Title: Don’t Even Think About It
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Netgalley
Release Date: 3/11/2014

 Description from Goodreads:

We weren’t always like this. We used to be average New York City high school sophomores. Until our homeroom went for flu shots. We were prepared for some side effects. Maybe a headache. Maybe a sore arm. We definitely didn’t expect to get telepathic powers. But suddenly we could hear what everyone was thinking. Our friends. Our parents. Our crushes. Now we all know that Tess is in love with her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That, um, Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper.

Since we’ve kept our freakish skill a secret, we can sit next to the class brainiac and ace our tests. We can dump our boyfriends right before they dump us. We know what our friends really think of our jeans, our breath, our new bangs. We always know what’s coming. Some of us will thrive. Some of us will crack. None of us will ever be the same.
So stop obsessing about your ex. We’re always listening.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Netgalley.

I’ve read a few books by Sarah Mlynowski, and I’ve enjoyed them, so when I saw Don’t Even Think About It on Netgalley, I jumped at the chance to read it. I’m glad I did, too. It was definitely a quick, fun read.

I was a little confused when I first started it because the writing style is very different from what I’m used to. It’s kind of first person plural omniscient. It’s so weird. Because all of the characters can read each other’s minds, they pretty much know everything, so they tell the story together. Once I got the hang of it, though, it definitely made sense.

I feel like there’s nothing really exciting or overly important to talk about. It’s typical high school drama. But it was a fun read. I thought that the mind-reading added a really interesting element. It was really funny to read when someone would say something and then think something else, forgetting that so many people can actually hear their thoughts.

My biggest complaint was the ending. I liked it, but I just feel like there’s more to the story. Don’t Even Think About It isn’t currently being advertised as a series, but I definitely feel like it could be. I think even a few more pages could have made the ending so much better. Overall, though, I thought it was a really fun read, and I would definitely recommend it!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

