ARC Review – Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas

Title: Ask Again Later
Author: Liz Czukas
Series: No
Source: Received for free from Odyssey Books
Release Date: 3/11/2014

 Description from Goodreads:

Despite what her name might suggest, Heart has zero interest in complicated romance. So when her brilliant plan to go to prom with a group of friends is disrupted by two surprise invites, Heart knows there’s only one drama-free solution: flip a coin.

Heads: The jock. He might spend all night staring at his ex or throw up in the limo, but how bad can her brother’s best friend really be?

Tails: The theater geek…with a secret. What could be better than a guy who shares all Heart’s interests–even if he wants to share all his feelings?

Heart’s simple coin flip has somehow given her the chance to live out both dates. But where her prom night ends up might be the most surprising thing of all…

Review

I’ve had Ask Again Later on my to-read shelf for a long time, so when I saw that Odyssey Books was giving away an ARC while I was at the Story Crush tour, I had to scoop it up! However, I had forgotten what it was about. Once I read the description, I was really excited to start it!

If you’ve been reading my reviews for a while, you know that I love parallel universe/alternate reality stories, and Ask Again Later is one of those. Heart is planning on going to the prom with a group of friends until she gets two separate requests. Both are asking her for different reasons, though neither is interested in her. She thinks both have good reasons, so she can’t decide. After her friend makes a joke, she flips a coin to decide. And this is where the story really gets interesting.

As soon as Heart goes to see the results of the coin toss, the book splits into two sections. It fast-forwards to prom night, and we get to see what happens on both dates. I hope it’s not a spoiler to say that neither date is all sunshine and roses, which definitely leads to some amusing times for the reader! As usual, I really enjoyed when the same thing would happen but in different ways in both scenarios.

I found the ending to be a little bit predictable, but I still really loved it and thought that it was perfect. I really liked Heart and her journey throughout the story.

Overall, I was very happy with Ask Again Later, and I would definitely recommend it. It reminded me a lot of Just Like Fate, so if you’ve read and loved that one, definitely give this one a try!

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

