DNF ARC Review – The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson

Title: The Mark of the Dragonfly
Author: Jaleigh Johnson
Series: No
Source: Received for review from Netgalley
Release Date: 3/25/2014

 Description from Goodreads:

Fans of The City of Ember will love The Mark of the Dragonfly, an adventure story set in a magical world that is both exciting and dangerous.
Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields.
The girl doesn’t remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she’s from the Dragonfly Territories and that she’s protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home.
The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect–everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible.
Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey.

Review

This book was received from the publisher for review via Netgalley.

I really wanted to like this book. When I read the description, it sounded interesting. However, I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t find Piper to be an interesting character, and I just couldn’t relate to her world. I was actually a little confused.

Even after the meteor shower, when some more “exciting” things started happening, I was still bored. I just felt like nothing was really happening. I think I gave it to 25%, which is about 100 pages, and I still just didn’t care about the story at all. I wasn’t even curious about what was going to happen, and I really struggled to even get to that point. I’ve been in enough of a reading slump lately without forcing myself to read books that I’m not enjoying.

I’ve never heard of The City of Ember, but if that type of fantasy is your thing, you might like The Mark of the Dragonfly. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t the book for me.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “DNF ARC Review – The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson

  1. Monique Mo Books March 27, 2014 at 10:39 am Reply

    It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy it 😦 I read it and as it got further into the story things got a little more interesting. I was left with a few in answered questions though. It was just okay for me.
    https://moniquesmobooks.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

