Book-to-Movie Friday #13: Divergent

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

Divergent

 

Oh my goodness, I was so excited for this movie, it’s not even funny. I saw it on opening night, and I would love to watch it again!

I used to watch Secret Life of the American Teenager, and I hated Shailene Woodley’s character, so I was not optimistic about her performance, and other than looks, I knew nothing about Theo James, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Honestly, within the first few moments of both being on screen, I quickly forgot my reservations and was sold on these actors as these characters.

It’s been a while since I read Divergent, but from what I remember, the movie stuck to the book for the most part. There were a few things cut out, obviously for time purposes. And my usual complaint with movies, giving too much away too soon, was also present, but neither really bothered me.

My favorite scene was when we saw Four’s tattoos. My goodness does Theo James have a gorgeous back! lol Okay, that probably wasn’t really my favorite scene, but I did love it!

Overall, I thought that the filmmakers did a wonderful job adapting Divergent from book to movie, and I can’t wait to see it again and to see what they do with the next book!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

