Book-to-Movie Friday #14: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Book to Movie Friday is a new feature I’ve created here at Mommy’s Reading Break. (If you do something similar, let me know, as I’m unaware of any!) Since I see a lot of movies because they’re based on books, or vice versa, I decided it would be a good idea to add reviews (or mini-reviews) of movies based on books. A lot of us review the books and then see the movies, but I only see a handful of blogs actually reviewing the movies as well, so that’s something I want to add here.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

 

I’m really struggling with what to write on this one. Chamber of Secrets might be my least favorite book in the Harry Potter series. I don’t know why, but I just don’t feel like it compares to the rest of the books. For that reason, Chamber of Secrets definitely isn’t going to be my favorite movie.

I struggle with this one a lot. You see, overall, Chamber of Secrets stays pretty true to the book. Most changes are minor, and there’s very little cut out that I actually miss. The ending is pretty cheesy, but other than that, like I said, it’s pretty true to the book.

So, for being true to the book, Chamber of Secrets probably gets 4.5 stars. However, I also find it to be a fairly boring movie. I tried rewatching it to write this post, and I found my attention wandering, and I had no problem turning off the movie so my husband could watch something.

I guess overall, I’ll give it 3 stars.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

