Review – Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

Title: Faking Normal
Author: Courtney C. Stevens
Series: No.
Source: Personal Purchase

Description from Goodreads:

An edgy, realistic, and utterly captivating novel from an exciting new voice in teen fiction.

Alexi Littrell hasn’t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in “the Kool-Aid Kid,” who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

A searing, poignant book, Faking Normal is the extraordinary debut novel from an exciting new author-Courtney C. Stevens.

Review

I was interested in reading Faking Normal from the first time I heard of it. But after the Story Crush tour I went to, I was even more excited to read it. It just really sounded like a great contemporary, and it absolutely was!

I loved just about everything about Faking Normal. It was probably one of my favorite contemporaries I’ve ever read. I really felt for Alexi, and her developing relationship with Bodee just really struck me. They were both broken for completely different reasons, but they were really great for each other. There were some times when I got frustrated with her, but I also realized that there was something bigger going on.

Bodee was just amazing from the start. I can’t even explain it, but I just really loved him. The way that he just seemed to intuitively know what Alexi needed, almost at all times, was really sweet. The weird kid at school, Bodee was just an amazing guy with a dark past, and I loved him.

The mystery of who and what happened to Alexi was one of my favorite parts of the story. The reader finds out little bits of what happens at the time, and I’ll admit that I was completely fooled on the who. I really thought it was one person when it ended up being another.

I’m not going to lie: I cried during the big reveal, but it was a complicated cry. It was sad for what happened, but also happy tears for the fact that it was finally all coming out. It really just was a great ending.

I would definitely recommend Faking Normal. I thought it was a wonderful, emotional contemporary, similar to Pushing the Limits or Ten Tiny Breaths.

 photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg photo blogstar_zpsc4faa77f.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Review – Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

  1. lissiet April 27, 2014 at 5:19 pm Reply

    I am excited to read this one, I will have to make sure not to read it in public and ugly cry!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

Leave a Reply

